Welcome Shirley Harris Slaughter

I would like to introduce you to Shirley Harris Slaughter, a dear friend and fellow member of Rave Reviews Book Club.  Shirley did what some of us have only dreamed of doing. She wrote a factual account of history.  I learned so many things from reading her book. Grab a cup of tea and let Shirley tell you how she filled in the Gaps in History.

FILLING THE GAPS IN HISTORY!

Hello and welcome to the final day of my 7 day blog tour!  Thank you so much for allowing me to share with you today.  The main reason I was inspired to write my book {OUR LADY OF VICTORY:  THE SAGA OF AN AFRICAN-AMERICAN COMMUNITY}, was to fill a glaring omission of history. Working at Our Lady of Good Counsel Catholic Church in a second career, opened my eyes to the fact that there was just not a lot of black people represented at various levels of the Archdiocese of Detroit’s catholic hierarchy. And if they were, they were not even Catholic. I found that to be quite interesting when I think about how I was raised…in a black community and Catholic Church. It didn’t allow me any room to understand that my race was not the only race represented in the scheme of things. It was like a culture shock, which I discuss in greater detail in my book.

I also learned that there was a lot of hurt out there by folks who attended the Catholic schools but didn’t necessarily become Catholics; and some who were Catholic came away with bad experiences. Fortunately for me, my experiences were minimal compared to others who grew up with me. But I discuss my pains and hurts while trying not to knock the Catholic Church, which was pretty darn hard to do.

I was on a mission to stake claim to our rightful place in history, including being able to find something about our community on the internet, because when I started out, there was nothing, and I do mean absolutely nothing. Now you can do a search under my name and “Our Lady of Victory, Detroit” will come up and you won’t just get OLV in Novi which is what was coming up when I got started on this project. Our church started in 1943 and Novi’s came alone in the fifties I believe. Same name-different cities and definitely a different ethnic makeup.

The point is, that OLV Novi came much later than OUR LADY OF VICTORY, yet it still got the support needed to survive. Our church didn’t get that support and even worse didn’t even get a permanent priest throughout its entire history. We had a revolving door of priests who were assigned to our church, with the understanding that they would not be there very long. How is that for saving souls?

So, you can see why I am so rabid about what comes up on the internet. There is still room for improvement on what comes up but it’s a start.

My pet peeves were the internet omission; the revolving door of administrators (not pastors); and a slight mention in the anniversary book, “Make Straight the Path”; calling OLV a mission church when in fact that label was no longer valid; and being listed as established in 1975 instead of 1943 – the true establishment date. That alone sprang me into action. Too many slights and too many omissions turned me into a first-time author.
Author (2)

BIO

Shirley Harris-Slaughter is a Michigan native. She is a community activist having been a school board trustee in the Oak Park School District.  She also served as Mentor to four freshmen girls in the Winning Futures Program.  Her interest also lies in politics and helping to elect candidates running for public office. She studies the issues and votes! Shirley loves trains, vintage clothes, and old buildings with historic significance. So it was a natural that she would write about growing up in historic Royal Oak Twp. and keep alive a catholic community that was about to lose its history and identity. It seems that everything she loved, had been closed down and she was not about to let any of it be forgotten.

Shirley joined Rave Reviews Book Club because she recognized the need to support fellow authors in order to move forward in her own endeavors. She already had a thriving relationship with like twitter followers. “We all had the same goals so it was a natural fit.”

The culmination of all these experiences pushed her in the direction of becoming a first-time author. Unlike most authors who have a passion to write from early on, she was pushed into becoming an author out of necessity.

Book title:  Our Lady of Victory, the Saga of an African-American Catholic Community.

Shirley Harris-Slaughter, Author

OLVBookImage

This is an awesome trailer!  Please take a look:

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/aF3ZBZFn3AY

Five Star Review of Our Lady of Victory by Nonnie Jules “Seal of Approval”

 

CONNECT HERE…

Tour Lineup: http://wp.me/P43s9i-2g

Author Page:  http://wp.me/P43s9i-1m

Email: sharrislaughter@gmail.com

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/sharrislaughter

GOODREADS

 

Purchase Links…
Amazon Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/kindle/dp/B00KDO1MSM/ref=rdr_kindle_ext_eos_detail
Createspace: https://www.createspace.com/4751309
Limited Editions: http://rememberourladyofvictory.com/about-the-book/

 

SHIRLEY’S BLOGS…
http://shirleyslaughterblog.wordpress.com/
http://rememberourladyofvictory.com/

 

 

 

 

 

14 responses to “Welcome Shirley Harris Slaughter

  1. Shirley, you are a living legend in my eyes. I love these posts as they are so enlightening and if they teach readers nothing else, they open everyone’s eyes to the fact that you are a passionate firecracker when it comes to what you believe in. Kudos to you! Kathryn, what a lovely place you have here. Don’t think I’ve ever been invited over for tea, though. hmmmm…

  2. Pingback: Welcome Shirley Harris Slaughter | Barrow Blogs

  3. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Hi Everybody. Sorry I’m late getting over here but had some personal business to attend to. I can’t keep up with this jogging er blogging! It’s exhausting. Kathryn thanks for having me.

  4. I salute you in your quest to preserve a history of people and places you grew up in and love. We all have stories that need to be told, the true stories that we have lived and can testify to. That is what drives us to be authors.

  5. Shirley Harris-Slaughter

    Nonnie thanks for building me up so high. Its inspiring. You are inspiring and you and the members always lift me up. Thank you so much for everything.

  6. harmonykentonline

    I find all your posts so interesting, Shirley! I’ve enjoyed seeing so many wonderful blogs along your tour, too. I really hope that OLV is a roaring success, and I can’t wait to read your next book 🙂 Kathryn, thanks so much for hosting Shirley today! I love the gentle colours on your blog, and the tea looks yummy! 🙂

  7. Well done for being so stirred by a situation Shirley that you wrote a book about it. I very much enjoyed reading this post so thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

