The Writing Process

I was invited and gladly accepted an invitation to be part of “The Writing Process” blog tour by Charles Ray.  I first met Charles through the online indie author group, Indies Unlimited.  Through the many blogs posts on that site I learned that Charles is a book reviewer.  I immediately contacted him and asked how I could get a review.  Charles gave me my first online book review and I began following his blog.  I love reading his book reviews and learning writing tips that he shares with his readers.  Please pay a visit to Charles Ray’s blog.

Now here goes my answers to the four questions submitted to all those participating in this blog tour.

WHAT AM I WORKING ON?

I have been struggling on what my next project will be.  I have the beginnings of a children’s book about environmental illness started.  It will be a rhyming book with illustrations.  I want to try my hand at fiction.  Several ideas have crossed my mind.  More me, writing my memoir took a lot of my emotional energy as I relived my journey.  I am working hard on getting back into the habit of writing daily in my journal.  Posting blogs two to three times a week also helps me keep in the writing mode.

HOW DOES MY WORK DIFFER FROM OTHERS OF ITS GENRE?

My book fits into two genre categories, biography and inspirational.  I hope that my writing differs in that it raises a social consciousness towards what we are exposing ourselves to daily in terms of chemicals through exposures to chemicals in the air, the chemicals that are put onto our bodies, and the chemicals we ingest from pesticides as well as plastics and our cookware.

WHY DO I WRITE WHAT I DO?

I write what I do to raise awareness as I have said in the previous question.  I write because there are so many out there suffering as I did/do and think they are alone and that there is hope.  I write for those who have a family member who suffers from environmental or other chronic illness who just don’t understand or believe that it is not all in their head.  I was never a writer before but after becoming ill, I felt compelled to share what I have endured and learned through my journey of survival and search for the courage and hope I needed to keep moving forward.  I hope to continue to be able to use my voice in my writing.

HOW DOES MY WRITING PROCESS WORK?

I don’t have a specific writing process.  In the beginning I just started writing my story and would stop when it became too difficult.  There were days when I sat for hours at the computer letting my fingers fly across the keyboard as I told my story.  This was usually followed by days, weeks, and sometimes months before I could manage to sit and write again.  First I relied on my memory as the story spilled on to the pages.  Then I pulled out my journals to verify the events and to share pieces of my writings during the most painful parts of my journey.

As I begin the next phase of writing, I am not sure if it will be another nonfiction piece  or if I will take on the task of writing something in the fiction genre. No matter which way I go, I am very excited about the process.

Thank you by and reading my post!  You can check out the writing process of these amazing authors next Monday, March 31, 2014.

author photo JennieJennie Sherwin  http://jsherwinblog.wordpress.com/

Jennie has a bachelor’s degree in English and a master’s degree in counseling. She is the author of Intentional Healing: One Woman’s Path to Higher Consciousness and Freedom from Environmental and Other Chronic Illnesses and is a contributing writer to Conscious Life News. She has been a teacher of English on the junior high school and senior high school levels, as well as a writer and editor in the field of public health. She has mentored writers and editors. She is certified in Reiki I and II and has studied energy therapies at A Healing Place in Richardson, Texas, working under the direction of Deborah Singleton and her healing team. Jennie also acknowledges the guidance of Christine Gregg, Australian spirit reader and healer, and Maya Page, intuitive healer, Reiki Master, and VortexHealing® practitioner, now retired. In Baltimore, Maryland, where she lives with her husband, Roger, Jennie writes about the environment and health, healing, consciousness, and chemical sensitivity. Her son, Colin, lives and works in New York City.

Pattimari and Peter Cacciolfi 
http://pattimaricacciolfi.com/2014/03/20/pnpauthors-writing-workshop/

peter & patti on cruise in formualPattimari & Peter Cacciolfi are a married couple who are team writers of different genres; children’s books, fantasy, crime/mystery, science fiction, adventure, romance, near-death, and self-help books. In Peter is a retired teacher who holds a master’s degree in English and a black-belt, as well as an author. Pattimari is a therapist who has worked with autistic, ADHD, and troubled children and their parents, and family communication. She sat on the board at Family Communications and Youth Advocates, and is also an author.

In 2013 Peter and Pattimari opened PnPAuthors, and early 2014 their PnPAuthors book Club, and Writing Workshop. http://pnpauthorspattimariandpeter.ning.com/?xgi=1SJxMajXaByT9v

9 responses to “The Writing Process

  1. I always believed that there was strength in my pain and in my demons. I’m glad to see that you’ve harnessed that power, however difficult it may prove at times. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Pingback: The Writing Process | Charles Ray's Ramblings

  3. Kathy: Congratulations on being tagged to be part of “The Writing Process” blog tour. Thanks so much for tagging me. You mentioned that you feel compelled to write. From what I’ve read, and from my own experience, feeling compelled to write is what writers share. Good luck on whatever you choose to do next! Jennie

  4. Great post, Kathryn. Good luck with whichever route you choose!

  5. Pingback: The Writing Process | Pattimari Cacciolfi Published Kindle Books

  6. Pingback: Peter & Pattimari’s Writing Club~ | Pattimari Cacciolfi Published Kindle Books

Leave a Reply

